HeaderPolicies Home Home Search Help Careers News Events Contact Us
PDF

Policy 4.84
Requirements for Employees using University Owned Vehicles

Responsible Official: VP for Human Resources
Administering Division/Department: Employee Relations
Effective Date: April 02, 2007
Last Revision: October 16, 2012

Policy Sections:

Overview

All Emory employees who operate Emory owned or leased vehicles must comply with Emory's policies and all applicable laws for the safe operation of motor vehicles. Employees using personal vehicles on Emory sponsored business must comply with the Section specifically addressing Personal Vehicles. 

Employees must be at least 18 years of age, have at least two years of driving experience and possess a valid Georgia (or State of residence (US)) driver’s license for the class of vehicle to be driven. Providers of leased vehicles may require a higher age limit.

The following are requirements for drivers of Emory owned or leased vehicles:

  • Emory will obtain a driving record for all employees who drive Emory vehicles at the time of hire or transfer.
  • Emory will obtain a driving record check for all employees who drive Emory vehicles every two years effective March 1st.
  • Employees will be required to successfully complete the Emory Defensive Driving Course every five years.
  • Employees must advise their supervisor of auto accidents, citations, or matters affecting their driver's license within 72 hours of the event.
  • Hiring departments are responsible for maintaining the driving records of their employees.

Policy Details

EMPLOYMENT PROCESS FOR JOBS INVOLVING OPERATION OF A UNIVERSITY VEHICLE

 Applicants must obtain a valid  Georgia (or State of residence (US)) driver's license for the class of vehicle to be driven on the job within 30 days of employment if for other than a standard Class C license.

Applicants will be required to sign a form authorizing Emory to check their driving record.  Applicants not signing an authorization form will not be considered for jobs involving the operation of an Emory vehicle.

The driving record of an applicant will be checked only if the applicant is the final candidate for the job. Applicant driving record information will be obtained by the Employment Services Department of the Human Resources Division upon initial hiring. The employee's department is responsible for maintaining and updating the employee driving history information as changes occur but no less than every two years effective March 1st.

A department, in consultation with the Employment Services Department, will make hiring decisions based on the applicant’s possession of an appropriate and valid Georgia (or State of residence (US)) driver’s license and an acceptable driving record.

 A driving record may be considered unacceptable if it involves:

1. One of the following convictions during the previous three-year period:

a. reckless driving
b. driving while impaired or under the influence of alcohol or drugs
c. homicide by vehicle, negligent homicide or involuntary manslaughter
d. fleeing or attempting to elude police officers
e. driving without a license or while license is suspended or revoked
f. hit and run or failure to stop after an accident
g. major speeding (20 or more MPH over limit)

2. Two of the following convictions during the previous three-year period:

a. speeding (less than 20 MPH over limit)
b. any other moving violation
c. “at-fault” accident
d. failure to have required insurance

3. Three of the following convictions during the previous three-year period:

a. defective equipment
b. oversize or overweight load
c. operating without required equipment or warnings
d. other equipment violations
e. not “at-fault” accident

CURRENT EMPLOYEES
All current employees whose jobs involve the operation of an Emory owned or leased vehicle shall be requested to sign a form authorizing a check of their driving record every two years effective March 1st. Employees also will be required to complete the Emory Defensive Driving Course within three months of moving to a position that requires operation of an Emory vehicle.  Emory's Defensive Driving Course will be a four hour program.

Failure to sign the required authorization form may cause the employee to lose his or her ability to operate Emory owned or leased vehicles, and a decision will be made regarding the employment status of the employee.

Emory employees who drive Emory vehicles are required to report all traffic citations, criminal charges relating to the operation of motor vehicles, and/or changes in license status to their supervisors within 72 hours.

EMORY DEFENSIVE DRIVING COURSE
The Human Resources Division provides the Emory Defensive Driving Course. The National Safety Council will certify employees who successfully complete the Defensive Driving Course.  Emory's Defensive Driving Course will be a four hour program.

Departments are responsible for contacting Human Resources Training and Development to schedule defensive driving training for their new or current employees who drive Emory vehicles. Employees will be required to successfully complete the Emory Defensive Driving Course every five years.

Employees who do not successfully complete the Defensive Driving Course will be provided an opportunity to repeat the course and successfully complete it within the next 60 days. If a passing score is not attained the second time, the employee will be removed from driving responsibilities, and a decision will be made regarding the employment status of the employee.

DENIAL OF DRIVING PRIVILEGES
The employee's department is responsible for maintaining and updating the employee driving history information as changes occur but not less than every two years effective March 1st.

Driving privileges to operate an Emory owned or leased vehicle may be denied or suspended and a decision regarding the employment status may be made under the following circumstances:  

  1. One of the following convictions during the previous three year period:

     a.                   reckless driving

b.                  driving while impaired or under the influence of alcohol or drugs

c.                   homicide by vehicle, negligent homicide or involuntary manslaughter

d.                  fleeing or attempting to elude police officers

e.                   driving without a license or while license is suspended or revoked

f.                   hit and run or failure to stop after an accident 

  1. Three moving convictions during the previous two year period
  2. Two at fault accidents during the previous two year period
  3. Failure to obtain a passing score following a repeat of the Defensive Driving Course
  4. When the department head, in consultation with the Human Resources Division and Risk Management, determines that an employee should no longer operate Emory vehicles.
  5. Failure to report an accident involving an Emory owned, leased or rented vehicle to your supervisor within 24 hours.
  6. Failure to report traffic violations, criminal charges relating to the operation of motor vehicles and changes in license status to your supervisor within 72 hours.
  7. Operating a University owned or leased vehicle outside the scope of the destination  and business related activity.
  8. Operating a University owned or leased vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

REMEDIAL ACTION
Employment Status
Decisions regarding the employment status of an employee who has been removed from driving responsibilities shall be made on a case-by-case basis. When an employee is removed from driving responsibilities, the department will give reasonable consideration, if circumstances warrant, to reassigning the employee to a non-driver position vacancy in the department for which the employee is qualified.

If reassignment in the department is not possible, the department should notify the employee of a pending dismissal from employment. However, the employee may apply for job vacancies not involving driving.

If an employee has not found employment by the end date specified by the department, the employee may request a personal leave of absence without pay for up to 90 calendar days. This leave will allow the employee to remain in an inactive employment status with Emory while he/she continues to pursue other job opportunities.

If the employee has not found another position by the end of the personal leave, the employee will be dismissed.

PERSONAL VEHICLES

An employee who uses his or her personal vehicle on an Emory-sponsored business must:

  • Obtain personal auto insurance and provide the following upon request - a valid and current certificate of insurance that includes insurance company name, make/model of vehicle, vehicle VIN number, policy number and name of person insured.
  •  Acknowledge that Emory does not carry insurance on, and assumes no responsibility for, any damage to personal vehicles, even when used on a Emory-sponsored business or program.   The employee’s auto insurance will respond for third party liability including liability for injuries to passengers in the vehicle. It is an industry standard that insurance follows the vehicle.
  • Acknowledge that he or she will be responsible for paying any deductibles or co-pays associated with his or her insurance in the event of an accident.
  • Must comply with all safety requirements outlined in the policy including but not limited to the use of cell phones, PDA, texting, email, etc, shall be drug and alcohol free, this includes prescription and non-prescription drugs that may impair a driver’s judgment or faculties, must observe all traffic regulations and must avoid driving if conditions are hazardous.
  • All accidents and property damage are to be immediately reported to local police.

Other Provisions
Emory owned or leased vehicles will be operated for Emory business or activities only. Personal use of Emory vehicles is prohibited at all times. Drivers shall not pick up or transport family members, friends, hitchhikers or any other person not on official university business.

Only authorized drivers who possess a valid Georgia driver’s license in the class of vehicle to be operated may sign out vehicles. For departments with assigned vehicles, it is the responsibility of the department head to provide for proper key control and to ensure that vehicles are signed out and back in after each use.  Accident kits will be kept with the vehicle at all times.  Additional accident kits may be obtained from The Office of Quality and Risk by calling 404-778-8933.

All persons signing out vehicles must complete the pre-trip and post-trip checklist. The signed checklist and keys must be returned after using the vehicle. Drivers shall not operate a vehicle that the driver suspects is not operating properly. The driver should park the vehicle and call his or her supervisor to make appropriate arrangements so that the vehicle may be operated safely.

Seat belts must be worn by all occupants of the motor vehicle at all times the vehicle is in motion. Drivers may not transport more persons than can be safely accommodated by the available seat belt system.

Vehicles are considered no smoking areas. Drivers are responsible for ensuring that all occupants of the vehicle observe the no smoking policy.

 Cell phones, PDA, texting, email, etc., should not be in use while the vehicle is in motion, unless hands –free technology is used.

Drivers shall be drug and alcohol free. This includes prescription and non-prescription drugs that may impair a driver’s judgment or faculties.

Drivers must observe all traffic regulations. Drivers are personally responsible for any traffic citations that may be issued as a result of operating a university vehicle.

Drivers must avoid driving if conditions are hazardous. If there is any question about hazardous conditions, drivers must call their supervisors for instructions.

Drivers are responsible for the safety and security of the vehicle until it is safely returned to the designated university location.

Drivers should be well rested when operating the vehicle and will not drive longer than 3 hours without a 15-minute break.

All accidents and property damage are to be immediately reported to local police.

Drivers must report all incidents, including collisions, citations or other accidents, to their supervisors  within 24 hours.  Any accidents must be reported to Risk Management   404.778.7933 within 24 hours  and the Workers' Compensation Department within 24 hours if an employee is injured.  Failure to report an accident may result in the revocation of your authorization to drive.

Deductibles incurred due to repairs of owned, leased or rented vehicles are the responsibility of the department or school.  

All owned and leased vehicles should contain instructions on what to do in the event of an accident; 

What to do if you are involved in an auto accident involving Emory owned, leased or rental vehicles

Assist any injured parties in obtaining appropriate medical care.

Report the accident to the appropriate police department. If on campus, this would be the Campus Police. If the accident occurs elsewhere, the appropriate police department must be notified.

Obtain the following information at the scene of the accident:

  • Exchange the information with the other party. Obtain their name, phone numbers, insurance information, type of vehicle, etc.
  • Obtain the name and contact information of any witnesses
  • Obtain the name of the police department investigating the accident and information on   how police report may be obtained
  • Within 24 hours report all accidents involving Emory owned, leased or rented vehicles to the Claims Examiner within Risk Management at 404.778.7933. If you need immediate assistance, you may call Risk Management by paging the Risk Manager on call or by calling (404) 686-5500 and entering PIC # 50316. 

In order to process your claim in a timely manner, the Claims Examiner  will need the following information: 

  • Name and contact information for the employee or student driving the Emory owned, leased or rental vehicle
  • Name and phone number of the driver’s department manager
  • Year, vehicle identification number, Make & Model of the vehicle
  • Name of any passengers
  • Name of any injured parties
  • Pertinent information for the other vehicle/vehicles including the name of the driver, the name of the vehicle’s owner, their phone numbers, addresses, insurance company etc.
  • Police report or case number on police report

 If the vehicle is a leased or rented vehicle, the driver must comply with all policies of the rental company.

Vehicles must be secured when not occupied and must have contents reasonably safeguarded

When renting a vehicle from Enterprise or other commercial leasing company, inspect the vehicle for damages prior to leaving the lot and again when returning the vehicle. Note any damage on the company forms. Your department will be charged any deductibles resulting from physical damage noted by the rental company.

Note on fifteen Passenger Vans –  The use of 15 passenger vans is prohibited.

Related Links

Revision History